BizTalk Compilation problem – Compiler for file type ‘*.xsd’ failed. Value cannot be null. Parameter name: pUnk error

Posted: July 21, 2010 in BizTalk
Tags: , ,

I’ve got the following error while I wanted to compile a BizTalk Server Project:

“Error 2
Build failed. Compiler for file type ‘*.xsd’ failed. Value cannot be null. Parameter name: pUnk“

The error occurs if there is any *.xsd file added to the project.

I don’t know what caused the problem but I did a repair on the BizTalk installation and the problem was gone.

SOLUTION

  • Click Start, click Run, type Appwiz.cpl and then click OK.
  • In the list of currently installed programs, click Microsoft BizTalk Server 2006 (or 2004), and then click Change/Remove.
  • In the BizTalk Server 2004 Installation Wizard window, click Repair, and then click Next.
  • After the BizTalk Server Installation Wizard repairs BizTalk Server, click Finish to close the BizTalk Server Installation Wizard window.

References

Tags: BizTalk | Compilation | Errors and Warnings, Causes and Solutions

Comments
  1. Shah MOHAMOD says:

    Hi,

    I’m getting the same error. I have re-installed the BizTalk 2006 R2 Developer Tools and SDK on my build server. But this didn’t correct the problem. Any other hints which could help ?

    • Did you repairing the BizTalk installation? not just Tools and SDK, but BizTalk Server it self.
      This is the only way I know to solve the problem.

      • Shah MOHAMOD says:

        In fact, i just installed the Developer tools and SDK for building projects on my BUILD machine. Do you think it’s necessary to install the whole BizTalk package even on the BUILD machine ?

  2. Without BizTalk + VS on the development computer you hardly could do anything helpful to develop BizTalk project.
    I never try you scenario, but I found this discussion: http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/aspnet/29655629/compile-biztalk-project-without-biztalk-server.aspx

    My suggestion is that you create a full LAB environment in your machine (personal is not my favorite) or in a Virtual PC – I like this last option, because it allows me to have different platforms (2006, 2009 or 2010)

Leave a Reply

